Meal Plan Monday

I honestly suck at figuring out what to make for supper. Breakfast is fine and lunch is easy, but supper always seems to elude me. I want suppers to be somewhat healthy but still tasty and things that I know my kids will actually eat. I found a website called Dashing Dish. It has free recipes, but also lots of delicious recipes in the members area, so I joined and have access to all those great new meal ideas.
This week I figured that I would plan out what we will eat for supper so I could do proper grocery shopping. It will cut down on the trips my fiancé needs to make to the store after work, will cut down on the amount of quick, crappy food we eat. And hopefully as I get better at meal planning, it will save us some extra cash.
I tried to meal plan once before, using Pinterest. But I have come to find that Pinterest is really like a black hole for me. I get started pinning recipes for supper and end up on a board full of pretty shoes or knitting patterns. Hours later, I still have no clue what we are having for supper but I have months worth of crafting queued up and a wishlist of shoes, clothes and books a mile long.
I’m planing from Monday to Sunday, and including a meal for Sunday. Most Sundays we have a family supper with my fiancé’s family though, so if that’s the case the Sunday meal will just get bumped to Monday. If a meal happens to be one of the free ones I will hyperlink the recipe to it for you!

Monday
Slow Cooked Peach Chicken with rice
Tuesday
Deep Dish Cheeseburger Pie with assorted veggies
Wednesday
Three Cheese Slow Cooked Macaroni and Cheese
Thursday
Three Bean Chili
Friday
Chicken Pot Pie Muffins with mashed potatoes
Saturday
Crockpot Chicken Taco Chili
Sunday
Pizza Burger with salad

On the chili nights I may make homemade buns or biscuits because chili and a bread product go together like peanut butter and jelly. But aside from that I’ve added a side dish of veggies or rice or whatever I felt might match with the main dish each night. We’ve not yet tried any of these recipes so I will be sure to report back on how they went over next Monday when I lay out our next meal plan!

Leave a Reply

